In Memoriam, September 11, 2001

Joseph Rutkowski, Jr., clarinet; Suzanne Mueller, cello
Meira Warshauer


Engineered and Produced by Reed Robins, MacIntyre Music, NY

Composer Meira Warshauer's powerful and haunting work, in its clarinet/cello incarnation (the original is for solo cello, and there are also versions for solo cello and string orchestra, violin and cello, and cello choir).

From the composer's program notes:

I wrote these sketches during the days of watching the horror of the attacks of September 11: The collapse of the World Trade Center, the attack on the Pentagon, the plane crash in Pennsylvania.

I didn’t have a piece in mind, or consciously set out to write one. But the sketches seemed to belong together, afterwards...

It is my way of holding each other in our loss.

It reflects my sadness, our collective sadness
the loss of loved ones
looking for survivors, not finding...
Hoping it isn’t true, disbelief...
it is true...
The slow motion collapse of the towers--
with that collapse, all of our losses
our national sense of invulnerability gone


Hope may be found inside the heart bared open to pain, but also to truth and love.